Posted by: katieperez | February 5, 2009

Baby Perez & Neema!

Hi All-

I hope that 2009 is treating everyone well. The big news on my side is that Pedro & I are expecting our first baby in June! Little baby Perez is expected on June 26th, 2009 (one day after our wedding anniversary). I’m almost 20 weeks and everything has been going well. The baby has been doing great although Mom still gets EXTREME morning (should be called ALL DAY) sickness so that is a little rough. There’s nothing like having your husband help catch your vomit (so you don’t puke on yourself) to help confirm for you that you married the right man. 🙂 We have our 20 week ultrasound next week and will FINALLY find out the gender of the baby so stay tuned. And although we don’t know yet if it is a boy or a girl I think we have figured out that this kid is going to be a Xbox gamer 🙂

 12 Week Ultrasound with controller

12 Week Ultrasound Photo

 

I also wanted to give everyone an update on Neema. She is doing great. She graduated from Kindergarten in December and is now in 1st grade (the school year runs Jan -> December in Tanzania). Her teachers continually talk about how smart & dedicated she is. I have a friend down there right now who has visited her and is sending me some photos so I’ll get those uploaded as soon as I get them.

The Neema Foundation is also off to a great start! We have all of our paperwork submitted to the IRS and are just awaiting our official letter saying that we are a non-profit. Our Math Set Campaign was a huge success and we’ll be sending the Math Sets to the kids the Weekend!!! We’ll be kicking off our official communication with Donors as soon as we get our 501c# status. If you are interested in joining our mailing list please e-mail: info@neemafoundation.organd put MAILING LIST in the Subject line. We have a ton of plans for the coming year.

I think that becoming a mother myself just re-enforces my passion around helping these kids. Pedro and I spent last Saturday at Babies R Us going through and looking at all the stuff that we have in the US to help us parent. I can’t help but think back in those moments to all of the women and children in Africa who go without food, let alone a Diaper Gennie.  My time in Africa has definitely changed me, and I am happy to be changed. And as I take this great leap into motherhood I am keeping in my heart all of the children I met in Africa, especially the little girl who I think of in my heart as my first daughter, Neema.

 

Hope all is well!

 

-Katie

Responses

  1. I can’t wait to hear what you’re having. I’m REALLY hoping a girl so if (or should I say when) I see a really cute girl outfit I can feel justified buying it. Knowing that if I don’t have a girl (or knowing that I won’t, LOL!) I have someone to give it too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

