Posted by: katieperez | June 30, 2009

Still no Baby…..

Well she is now 4 days late and there is no sign that she will make her debut anytime soon. My Doctor wants to induce me next Monday (July 6th) if I don’t go before then. I really HATE the idea of being induced as I want a fully natural (yep- no pain meds) birth and am worried that with the induction I won’t be able to handle the added intensity without having an epidural. I’m hoping that she’ll make her appearance in the next day or so. The 4th of July is my absolute favorite Holiday of the Year so it would be a great day to have a baby.

We did an all out attempt yesterday to try and convince her to show up. My doctor stripped my membranes and I immediately started having Braxton-hicks contractions. I lunged on the birth ball, walked, Jeff and I even had a dance party but we just couldn’t get all of the contractions to turn into the real thing.

Overall I’m doing well. The swelling is probably the worst symptom as it is truly painful. And this last week I developed very itchy hands and feet which are driving me NUTZ!!! My blood pressure still spikes on days when Jeff isn’t doing super so I just have to keep a constant watch on that and try and stay relaxed.

Hopefully my next post will include adorable photos showing off my sweet little girl.

-Katie

P.S.- the doctor thinks she’ll weigh in at over 9 lbs so she won’t be that little J

Responses

  1. It is perfectly within your right to refuse the induction if you don’t want it. I would review the risks of pitocin and such and see if you think it’s worth doing (of course if a medical need arises, that might change things). I know plenty of babies born “late” who were perfectly healthy. And in almost all cases mom had a fast labor too, since the BH contractions and such do sometimes help you dilate.

    Also, membrane stripping is most effective if you have it done twice within 3 days.

  2. A Jane Austen quote, somewhat vaguely sort of related to your current predicament:

    “To the girls, who could not listen to their cousin, and who had nothing to do but to wish for an instrument, and examine their own indifferent imitations of china on the mantelpiece, the interval of waiting appeared very long. It was over at last, however.”

  3. Maxine showed up on her own, on the day I was scheduled to be induced. Maybe your girl will do the same!


Leave a Reply

Categories

